785 Ipswich Road, YERONGA QLD 4104
Sold on 23/01/2017
- PROPERTY DETAILS
- Offices, Development / Land, Other
- Floor area:
- Return (PA):
- Land area:
- Energy Efficiency Rating:
- NABERS energy rating
- Property ID:
- Virtual Tour:
- View Tour
- 23 Mar 2017
Beautifully restored 1934 heritage listed Fire Station
- 280m2 of 1930s architecture over two levels + out buildings
- Possible uses include office, residence or development (STCA)
- Office approval granted in 2001 but never finalised
- 1,062m2 corner position with two street access
- Unique landmark property with cultural & historic significance
- Huge exposure to busy Ipswich road (over 50,000 cars a day)
Built in 1934, the Old Yeronga Fire Station is one of the earliest designs from leading Queensland architecture company Conrad and Gargett. Nestled next to Yeronga Park with CWA and Yeronga C&K Kindergarten as neighbours the Fire Station has been a landmark building not only for residents but for the thousands of people who drive past along Ipswich Road every day.
During the Second World War, an effigy of Hitler was hung from the awning. Also during the war years, the US and Dutch armies created a bivouac camp in Yeronga Park - behind the Fire Station - that was home to over a thousand soldiers and support staff.
The Fire Station provided firefighting services to the surrounding areas until 1974 when the building was passed on to the SES. The building was the SES base and training centre for 24 years. In 1998 the SES moved to new premises at Acacia Ridge and the building was held by Brisbane City Council until it was sold in 1999. It remained empty till the current owners bought it in 2001 for their office. SES staff told the owners to listen for the radio and tramping of boots from ghosts of SES past when storms approached. SES staff trained on site and ran into the Park through a back gate that opens into the park. To practice getting a rope across a flooded river or creek, SES staff used a bow and arrow to shoot a rope over the top of the fire station.
The Fire Station building retains nearly 100% of its original features including a large engine bay, a superintendent's building, and original shower building on the mid landing. However the commissioning plaque and the fire pole are in firefighting museum at the YMCA Old Petrie Town in Petrie. The engine bay still shows the locations where boats and ladders were hung from the walls. The SES was disappointed when the cedar fire pole was removed before they moved in. A handy button to change the lights at School and Ipswich Roads was also taken out - much to the disappointment of later owners.
The owners have given us clear instructions, this property must be sold. Please contact Aron Burtenshaw or Matt Wray for a copy of the IM or to arrange a confidential inspection.
785 Ipswich Road YERONGA